RSS

A Midnight Call from a ‘Prophet’

31 Jan

The day was Wednesday, January 23 and the time was exactly 11:32PM when my cell phone buzzed on a lamp stand beside our bed disturbing my peaceful sleep. I don’t like night phone calls so reluctantly I picked the phone, my eyes still half-asleep.

“Hello…”

“Hello, I am a prophet and I have a special word for you from God,” came the voice from the other end.

The moment I heard about the phrase. ‘special message from God,’ I cut the line and was going back to my sleep when my wife woke up and asked what was happening. Sleepily and dismissively, I told her that it was one of those unimportant and misdirected calls.

Four minutes later while trying to retrieve my enjoyable sleep, my phone buzzed again, but this time it was a Short Message Service (SMS)all written in capital letters.

“NDINE PROPHET NDIMAFUNA NDIKUWUZENI ZOTIMUKAVUTIKANDIMUMIMBA NDIYENDIKATINDIKUPEMPHELENI.”

Literally meaning  “I AM A PROPHET I WANTED TO TELL YOU THAT YOU HAVE STOMACH PROBLEMS AND WANTED PRAY FOR YOU”

Again, I ignored the SMS and wet back to sleep. But it was not over. A few minutes later, my phone rang again.

“Hello, I am a prophet….”

“Please, you are disturbing my sleep. Leave me alone, please. I don’t believe in any special word from God apart from the Bible,” I cut the line angrily. I am not so sure whether it was  righteous anger but to my relief, the ‘prophet’ did not call again.

In the morning, I revisited the whole incident.

“Of course, sometimes I experience stomach problems but that night I was fine. Why didn’t  ‘the prophet’ wait until morning to call? How urgent was this ‘special word for me’? These and many other unanswered questions lingered in my mind.

Any way, that’s the story about the midnight call I received from ‘a prophet.’

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in My Life as a Christian

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “A Midnight Call from a ‘Prophet’

  1. Chris Chinunda

    January 31, 2013 at 9:06 am

    then he would ask for love offering

     
  2. arthur

    January 31, 2013 at 9:11 am

    You made me laugh with that one. Let the WORD of GOD be exalted above everything.

     
    • conmakhalira

      January 31, 2013 at 12:17 pm

      Very laughable indeed. But this really happened. I don’t know whatever happened to the reverence and honor of God.

       
  3. Godwins Lwinga

    January 31, 2013 at 11:30 am

    Interesting and educating stuff. I have always struggled to believe prayerful people who boastfully say, “God said or spoke to me” about this and that or just as you have put it “special word from God”.

     
    • conmakhalira

      January 31, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      Godwins, you are light. The solid foundation to build our faith is Christ and His Word, the Bible. Any other foundation is a sinking sand.

       
  4. Coram Deo ;-)

    February 3, 2013 at 4:42 am

    I most respectfully disagree with this.

    God’s Word says, “Despise not prophesying. Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.” 1 Thessalonians 5:20,21

    You have to judge whether or not someone is “prophe-lying”.

    I will listen and judge it. I never discredit anyone unless I already have encountered, and know for certain that this particular person is a false prophet.

    Like the case in my best friend’s aunt. When she came to the house, my friend said, “Watch, she’s going to prophesy to you. She does everyone like that.”

    I couldn’t discredit her because of the time of day or her approach in introducing herself. She has a reputation for speaking things that never come to pass.

    And I am going to put myself out there on this one…

    I once discredited someone who approached me on the sidewalk when my husband left me. And he told me that I was free. And I totally was off base in responding, “Like I care how another man likes his eggs!”

    I took my husband back. He left again, this time my Pastor’s wife told me that I was free.

    Again, I took him back, and again he left…. and this time the LORD let me know that I was free. And guess what? I am walking in my liberty.

    I can’t see judging the time of day that person contacted you, as proving him false. Because God kept waking up Samuel in the middle of the night.

    I can’t stand “title junkies” but that is also no reason to deem someone as false.

    We are to judge fruit. For example, if the person had asked for money for this “healing”, then you know that it’s not God. God doesn’t sell healings.

    God said that we will know them by their fruit. Matt 7 says,

    15Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves. 16Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? 17Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit. 18A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. 19Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. 20Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.

    So if the Word of God is the final authority, and is to be exalted above all, then we should be able to judge prophesy.

     
    • conmakhalira

      February 3, 2013 at 5:11 pm

      Coram Deo,

      Thanks for your comment. Regarding the issue of prophecy and prophets, I have tackled it before in details. Please if you have time check my two other posts: “Do Prophets still exist” and “Christ: the true greatest prophet.” You can also see, “Revelation ceased, let’s be satisfied with illumination.” I am convinced by the testimony of Scripture that there is now new revelation apart from the Bible. Now I have a problem with those who say that they are getting special revelations from God apart from the Bible.

       
  5. Coram Deo ;-)

    February 3, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    May I ask what you mean by “special revelations from God apart from the Bible”?

     
  6. Coram Deo ;-)

    February 4, 2013 at 12:36 am

    Prayerful people who say ‘God spoke to me” are much wiser than Herod who did not give God glory for the wonderful words that came out of his mouth.

    Acts 12 And upon a set day Herod, arrayed in royal apparel, sat upon his throne, and made an oration unto them. 22And the people gave a shout, saying, It is the voice of a god, and not of a man. 23And immediately the angel of the Lord smote him, because he gave not God the glory: and he was eaten of worms, and gave up the ghost.

    And really the only reason I am in this post is because someone sent this link to me when they asked me for my testimony of how I ended up in school in a field that I never considered myself interested in. And in the beginning of my testimony, I said that God spoke to me when I was on my way home from a trip and said, “They hated Me before they hated you.”

    I wasn’t being boastful. It was a key point to my testimony. But instead of judging the fruit, the whole thing got twisted into something rather ugly. Like I was a false prophet, although I specifically told them that God never gave me a “word” for someone else. I honestly thought God spoke to everyone that had the Holy Ghost. Isn’t that what the Comforter is for?

    That very word is what helped sustain me thru the worst trial of my life this far. And my thing is that it lined up with scripture.

    “Howbeit when He, the Spirit of truth, is come, He will guide you into all truth: for He shall not speak of Himself; but whatsoever He shall hear, that shall He speak: and He will shew you things to come. He shall glorify Me: for He shall receive of Mine, and shall shew it unto you.” John 14:13,14

    It wasn’t in the presence of a crowd, it wasn’t for money. I wasn’t living in sin nor compromise. If the Holy Spirit has a mouth, why wouldn’t He speak? And if He speaks, why wouldn’t I hear it?

     
  7. Bible Answers

    February 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Very interesting! I am simply astounded – at a loss for words. Bizarre things happening in the Name of God! Tragic!

     

Leave a Reply

 
