RSS

My Reflections on Holy Living

28 Aug
Jesus

We all need Him as we pursue Holiness

There are times when it feels so good to be a Christian, especially, when you walk in the life of obedience to the will of God. It is that time when joy overflows every chamber of life and heaven feels closer than ever before. Then there are times when the flesh takes over and it’s nasty. You fight but you feel like punching the wind. The once higher graph of obedience nose-dives and you see no sign of progress. It hurts. It really hurts!

In times like these, I have found comfort in the assurance that God never loosen his grip on me and he never let me go. He still holds me as strong as always while the Holy Spirit convicts and leads me back to the path of obedience. It is comforting, really comforting! Of course, His discipline, in such cases, is inevitable (Hebrews 12:5-11)  but the thought that he still holds me stronger in his hand is soothing and assuring.

I would have loved that the moment Christ takes full control of ones life, they would never be tempted to go to the old ways or wander away from the path of obedience. But the truth is otherwise.  In this world, I am prone to let the fresh rule sometimes. It sad, really sad! However, I pray that the Holy Spirit will rule more.  I can’t agree more with R.C. Sproul:

“We all begin the Christian life with the intention of living in such a way as to please God. But we encounter obstacles along the way. We meet conflicts between what pleases us and what pleases God.

We need help in overcoming these obstacles. In a real way the Christian life is often a struggle. We gain ground and then slip backwards. There is such a thing as backsliding. Sometimes the slide seems as if is greased with the slickest substance the Devil can use. But as children who totter at the top of sliding board, fearful to move, we have a heavenly Father who guards the edge of the board and who waits at the bottom of the slide to catch us in His arms” (Pleasing God, Tyndale House Publishers ©1988)

Lord, I fall on your feet seeking more of your mercy and grace. “Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I will myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I will serve the law of sin” (Romans 8:24, 25).

Saints, lets always pray for one another no matter how rosy and beautiful our Christian lives might look. We all need more of His grace and mercy! I really need it. Pray for me as I pray for you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2012 in Christianity and theology

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “My Reflections on Holy Living

  1. Clara

    August 28, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Indeed, let us pray for each other. We do not understand what we do. For what we want to do we do not do, but what we hate we do.

    God does preserve the Christian. & thank God for glorification. That is such a beautiful hope!

     
    • conmakhalira

      August 29, 2012 at 5:50 am

      Thanks Clara for your comment. Glorification is indeed a beautiful hope.

      “Now to him who is able to keep (us) from stumbling and to present (us) blameless before the presence of this glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty and dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever, Amen” (Jude 24, 25).

       

Leave a Reply

 
