RSS

Blessings through SMS?

14 Jun

One Thursday evening while home my mobile phone beeped indicating I had received a new message. I did not know the number of the sender but the message read:

“Jesus loves you. Send it to seven people. Believe me after seven days your wish will come true but if you ignore it. You will be on your own seven years. Please do it with faith because it works.”

At first the message seemed nice and spiritual but my theological antennas sensed something amiss. The message suggests that my wishes will be granted by forwarding the message to seven people.

This means that Jesus will answer my prayer because I have sent short message service (sms) to seven people. If I don’t, he will punish me with a lonely life for seven years.

I have also received similar messages in my email inbox. Usually, they are forwarded messages asking me to also forward them to at least seven people and then God will bless.

Do we have biblical backing for this? Doesn’t Scripture tell us to pray in Jesus name for our needs and wishes? Has prayer become less powerful that God is now in the business of blessing people through sms? These are some of the questions that sprout in my mind.

I also wonder if this is not another form of idolatry. It should be a different god (and not the Father of my Lord Jesus Christ) who blesses people only because they have forwarded an email or an sms. What about those who don’t have cell phones or computers. How will he bless them? This kind of God for sure in not the one we find in Scripture.

Any way, back to my story,  I called the sender and told him that I don’t need to send sms to seven people for God to bless me and I can’t be on my own not even for a single second because God has promised in his Word never to forsake me (Hebrews 13:5).

God also promises: “Do not be anxious about anything but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving; present your requests to God. And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6, 7).

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
